Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Teleport Certification
Share |

WTA offers the world's only certification program for teleports, covering facilities, technical infrastructure and operating procedures.  The goal is to create an objective, transparent and internationally accepted method for:

  • Teleport operators to document the quality of their operations for customers and strategic partners
  • Customers to select teleport vendors delivering the price-performance level that is appropriate for their applications
Applying for Certification
The program provides four levels of certification, from Tier 4 to Tier 1.  Each level reflects a set of clear and objective standards for facilities, technology and operating procedures.  Certification at one of these levels indicates, at a minimum, that the teleport complies with the standards of that level.  More

"OneWeb is working with teleport operators around the world to develop gateways for our 650-satellite LEO network. Among other questions, our RFI asks if the site is certified by WTA. Having a WTA certification is invaluable in helping us ascertain the professionalism and level of service we should expect from a prospective teleport operator."   Jay Bloom, Vice President, Grounds Systems & Operations, OneWeb
The certification standards were developed by a volunteer committee made up of teleport, satellite and technology executives as well as representatives of end-user customers.  We invite you to click on the links below to:


  • Review the standards and provide comments for ongoing consideration by the committee.
  • Review the description of the four quality Tiers in which teleports can be certified.
  • Apply for certification.
  • See the list of Standards Committee members.

To learn more about the certification process, contact the Membership Director

Inside the Tier 4 Teleport

Teleport Certification Doubled Its Reach in 2018

Teleport Certification Facility Certification Standards
Applying for Certification
Procedures Certification Standards
Tier Descriptions
Standards Committee Members
Certified Teleports


Certification Levels and Cost

WTA charges fees for Provisional and Full Certification as well as reimbursement of auditor travel expenses. Discounted fees are available to operators seeking to certify multiple teleports.

Member Fee: Non-Member Fee:
Provisional Certification (Per Teleport) USD $1,200 USD $1,500
Full Certification* (Per Teleport)
     Tier 4 Fee:
USD $6,300
USD $7,000
     Tier 3 Fee:
USD $5,400
USD $6,000
     Tier 2 Fee:
USD $4,500
USD $5,000
     Tier 1 Fee:
USD $3,600
USD $4,000
Tier Descriptions
* Full Certification fees include compensation paid to the independent auditors.  WTA members receive a 10% discount on Full Certification fees for individual teleports.

Completing the Online Questionnaire

The Certification questionnaire calls for information about facilities, technology and procedures, which typically requires input from several members of your team.  The online version makes it easy to assign different sections of the questionnaire to different people, so that all may work on it at the same time.  Team members may complete part of a section, save the form, and return later to work on it again. When the questionnaire is complete, simply notify WTA at and we will download the data you have entered.

Online Certification Questionnaire

If you prefer a paper-based question, email or complete the contact form below to request the PDF form.

Certification Survey

Item Name Posted By Date Posted
Certification Overview Link Administration 7/5/2018
PDF Certification Form PDF (3.34 MB) Administration 5/20/2020
Online Certification Form Link Administration 7/5/2018
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal