Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Press Release

World Teleport Association Names NewCom’s Jaime Dickinson its 2010 Teleport Executive of the Year

Tuesday, March 9, 2010   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Randall Barney
Share |

WTA Press Releases

(New York City, March 9, 2010) -- The World Teleport Association today named Jaime Dickinson, President of NewCom International, its 2010 Teleport Executive of the Year. Mr. Dickinson will be honored during WTA’s Teleport Awards for Excellence luncheon on March 16 during SATELLITE 2010.

Mr. Dickinson’s ardent belief that communications is the key to education, economic development and stabilization in developing countries and his dedication to bringing 21st Century communications to vital regions throughout Africa, the Middle East and Latin America have propelled NewCom to become a leading provider of satellite communication services to these regions.

The Teleport Executive of the Year award is presented to an individual for demonstrated entrepreneurship, leadership and innovation in the development or operation of a teleport-based business. In honoring Mr. Dickinson, WTA noted NewCom’s recent contract to provide satellite transport services to 600 remote locations throughout Colombia. The initiative was signed in the spring of 2009 and funded through Colombia’s Ministry of Communications. Launched in partnership with Colombia-based telecom provider Contecol, the initiative provides high-speed Internet access to hospitals, schools, police and fire departments, city government offices, and cyber cafes. Thanks to the speed, efficiency and quality of NewCom’s work, the company was awarded an additional 350 sites in 2009 and another 1,000 sites in the first quarter of 2010.

"Effective communications infrastructure in developing countries is the critical link for the development of a truly globalized marketplace,” said Robert Bell, WTA Executive Director. "NewCom has made significant inroads in both Latin American and Africa, where the communications sector has been plagued by obstacles. Leading a small, innovative teleport company, Jaime Dickinson has won major government contracts in Colombia, Gambia, Guineau and other developing nations by building trust among local institutions and delivering a high-value end-to-end service. As a result of NewCom's efforts, villagers in areas as remote as the Andes now have the ability to communicate with loved ones they haven't heard from in years. Teachers are able to access educational materials via the Internet, and village doctors can now connect with leading global medical institutions around the globe to save lives. For this we honor him as WTA’s 2010 Teleport Executive of the Year.”

On March 16, during a luncheon ceremony sponsored by SES, WTA will honor the winners of the 2010 Teleport Awards for Excellence, including Teleport Executive of the Year, Independent Teleport of the Year, Teleport Technology of the Year, and the newly created Green Teleport of the Year. Additional luncheon sponsors include Crystal Computer, JSAT International and Newtec.

Mr. Dickinson joins a prestigious list of Teleport Executive of the Year alumni, including Doug Tutt, Chief Operating Officer and President of Global Energy Services, CapRock Communications; the late Kenneth Miller, President and Chief Operating Officer, Globecomm Systems; David Rivel, Founder & CEO, RRsat Global Communications Network; Nick Thompson, Managing Director, Arqiva Satellite & Media; Brent J. Gale, Vice President of Satellite and Broadcast Operations, EchoStar; and Norberto Alvarez Vitale, President, Teleport Internacional Buenos Aires. Click here for a complete list.

About World Teleport Association
WTA is dedicated to advocating for the interests of teleport operators in the global telecommunications market and promoting excellence in teleport business practice, technology and operations. Companies that do business with teleports also find that WTA is the best investment they can make to open new channels to the industry. More information is available at

For more information, please contact:
Orly Konig Lopez
240-425-3283 (mobile)


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal