Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Press Release

WTA Opens Nominations for the 2020 Teleport Awards for Excellence

Friday, December 13, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Victoria Krisman
Share |

(New York City, December 13, 2019) – The World Teleport Association (WTA) announced today the opening of nominations for the 2020 Teleport Awards for Excellence. WTA’s Teleport Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to companies and individuals who have dramatically demonstrated excellence in the field of teleport operations, development and technology. Nominations for the 2020 Teleport Awards for Excellence must be submitted to WTA by January 31, 2020.

“The communications business today is undergoing some of the biggest transitions in its history,” said executive director Robert Bell, “and the teleport industry is doing the same to adapt and continue thriving. The Teleport Awards salute teleport operators and their technology partners for innovation leadership in times of challenge and opportunity.”

Nominations are now being accepted for:

  • Independent Teleport Operator of the Year
    Awarded to an outstanding operator of a commercial communications hub that uses a combination of satellite, fiber, and terrestrial wireless to provide value-added services to customers in broadcasting, enterprise, carrier or government markets.
  • Teleport Technology of the Year
    Awarded to an organization whose technology has contributed to the business and operational success of teleports through lower costs, increased efficiency, new capabilities or access to new markets.

In addition to the Independent Teleport Operator of the Year and the Teleport Technology of the Year, WTA will also present an award for the Teleport Executive of the Year, to be selected by an awards committee of the association. The 2020 Teleport Awards will be presented on span style="font-weight:bold;">March 10 at a luncheon ceremony for invited guests at the SATELLITE 2020 conference in Washington, DC.

Submitting a Nomination
Nominations must be submitted using the Word electronic forms available on the WTA website ( and may be either emailed or printed and submitted in hard copy. In addition, nominees are welcome to supply accompanying materials in support of their nomination, as described on the WTA’s Teleport Awards Criteria page (

About World Teleport Association

Since 1985, the World Teleport Association ( has focused on improving the business of satellite communications from the ground up. At the core of its membership are the world's most innovative operators of teleports, from independents to multinationals, niche service providers to global carriers. WTA is dedicated to advocating for the interests of teleport operators in the global telecommunications market and promoting excellence in teleport business practice, technology and operations.

For More Information

Victoria Krisman
Communications Manager
World Teleport Association

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal