Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Press Release

World Teleport Association Names CapRock’s Doug Tutt its 2009 Teleport Executive of the Year

Wednesday, March 11, 2009   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Randall Barney
Share |

WTA Press Releases

(New York City, March 11, 2009) -- The World Teleport Association today named Doug Tutt, Chief Operating Officer and President ofGlobal Energy Services at CapRock Communications, the 2009 Teleport Executive of the Year. Mr. Tutt will be honored during WTA’s Teleport Awards for Excellence luncheon on March 25 during SATELLITE 2009 in Washington, DC.

According to Peter Shaper, Chief Executive Officer at CapRock Communications, "Doug’s leadership skills have taken CapRock from a niche player to a truly global satellite communications provider. Doug’s commitment and strong leadership skills were instrumental in driving CapRock to the most successful year in its history in 2008.”

The Teleport Executive of the Year award is presented to an individual for demonstrated entrepreneurship, leadership and innovation in the development or operation of a teleport-based business. Under Mr. Tutt’s leadership, in 2008 CapRock realized one of its largest revenue growth years since inception that resulted in recognition in Inc. Magazine’s 5000 Fastest Growing Private Companies, the Houston Chronicle’s Top 100 Private Houston-based companies, and earned the top spot on WTA’s Fast 21 list of Top Teleport Operators of 2008.

"Despite the worldwide economic recession, CapRock proved itself a force to be reckoned with,” added WTA Executive Director Robert Bell. "Doug’s initiatives and leadership have not only shaped CapRock into a leading satellite communication services company but also inspired an industry struggling with economic headwinds and changing dynamics.”

On March 25, during a luncheon ceremony sponsored by SES (, WTA will honor the winners of the 2009 Teleport Awards for Excellence, including: Teleport Executive of the Year, Independent Teleport of the Year, Corporate Teleport of the Year, and Teleport Technology of the Year.

Mr. Tutt joins a prestigious list of Teleport Executive of the Year alumni, including: the late Kenneth Miller, President and Chief Operating Officer, Globecomm Systems; David Rivel, Founder & CEO, RRSat Global Communications Network; Nick Thompson, Managing Director, Arqiva Satellite & Media; Brent J. Gale, Vice President of Satellite and Broadcast Operations, EchoStar; and Norberto Alvarez Vitale, President, Teleport Internacional Buenos Aires. A complete list can be found at WTA’s web site


About World Teleport Association
WTA is dedicated to advocating for the interests of teleport operators in the global telecommunications market and promoting excellence in teleport business practice, technology and operations. Companies that do business with teleports also find that WTA is the best investment they can make to open new channels to the industry.
More information is available at

For more information, please contact:
Orly Konig Lopez
240-252-5928 (office)
240-425-3283 (mobile)

World Teleport Association
55 Broad Street, 14th Floor, New York, NY 10004 USA
+1 212-825-0218 fax +1 212-825-0075


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal