Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Press Release

WTA Announces the 2015 Independent Teleport Operator and Teleport Technology of the Year Award

Tuesday, March 17, 2015   (0 Comments)
Share |

(New York City and Washington, DC, March 17, 2015) – The World Teleport Association today announced the winners of the 20th annual Teleport Awards for Excellence during an exclusive luncheon at Satellite 2015. The awards are presented each year to organizations and individuals in the teleport industry whose achievements have been deemed exceptional by the international trade association and its awards committees, made up of industry members from across the globe.

The 2015 recipients are:

Independent Teleport Operator of the Year: Onlime. Onlime brings together the solid technical expertise of CET Teleport in Germany with the extensive developing world experience of the Limeline Group to lead the way in high-quality, secure and reliable business communications for enterprise customers across the globe. The teleport, operational since 1987, provides access to over 200 geostationary satellites. Its extensive coverage across Europe, Africa, the Middle East, Central Asia through the Caribbean and South America is supplemented by dedicated access to a growing network of international fiber cables. Click here to read more about Onlime.

Teleport Technology of the Year: Newtec Dialog
® with Mx-DMA™. The Newtec Dialog ® platform is a scalable and flexible multiservice satellite communications platform that allows satellite service providers to build and adapt their network easily as their business grows. Its advantages include supporting a wide range of applications and services on a single platform, 15% efficiency improvement with Newtec’s Clean Channel technology, 50% bandwidth saving with Newtec Mx-DMA return link technology, and more. Click here to read more.

The winners were selected by an independent committee of industry experts based on nominations submitted during the first quarter of 2015.

In addition to the above honorees, WTA presented the previously announced Teleport Executive of the Year Award to Jorge Luis Villarreal Schutz, CEO of Elara Comunicaciones.
Click here to read more about the 2015 Teleport Executive of the Year.

The 2015 Luncheon and Awards Ceremony, sponsored by SES, hosted many of the world’s leading teleport operators and previous winners of WTA’s Teleport Awards for Excellence. Keith Buckley, President and CEO for ASC Signal, delivered the champagne toast to past recipients and presented the Teleport Technology of the Year award to Newtec. NewSat provided attendees with a guest gift. WTA’s Director of Development Louis Zacharilla was the emcee of the event, and was joined by WTA's Chairman M. Brett Belinsky and Mark Rathert, General Manager, Ground Operations for SES to announce Onlime as the winner of the Independent Teleport of the Year.

Commenting on the 2015 Awards, Zacharilla said, “WTA is proud to honor Onlime, Newtec, and Jorge Luis Villarreal Schutz at the 20th annual Teleport Awards. As have the winners in each of the previous nineteen years that WTA has presented these awards, those honored today represent an admirable level of excellence we aim to achieve in an industry that continues to, year after year, achieve excellence globally.”

About World Teleport Association
Since 1985, the World Teleport Association ( has focused on improving the business of satellite communications from the ground up. At the core of its membership are the world's most innovative operators of teleports, from independents to multinationals, niche service providers to global carriers. WTA is dedicated to advocating for the interests of teleport operators in the global telecommunications market and promoting excellence in teleport business practice, technology and operations.

For More Information
Matthew Owen
Communications Manager
World Teleport Association
212-825-0218 x105

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal