Google+
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Member News

EUTELSAT 7B satellite lines up for live broadcast of Rosetta mission’s historic comet landing

Sunday, November 9, 2014   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Randall Barney
Share |
Free-to-air broadcast on November 12 available live across Europe

Paris, 9 November 2014 - The EUTELSAT 7B satellite of Eutelsat Communications (NYSE Euronext Paris: ETL) is part of an exceptional infrastructure put in place by ESA to share the historic landing of the Philae lander on Comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko on 12 November.

ESA’s Rosetta spacecraft arrived at Comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko on 6 August after a ten-year journey through the Solar System. The landing site, currently known as Site J and located on the smaller of the comet’s two ‘lobes’, was selected just six weeks after Rosetta arrived at the comet.

The mission’s lander, Philae, will separate from the Rosetta spacecraft on 12 November at 08:35 GMT/09:35 CET from a distance of 22.5 km from the centre of the comet. It will land about seven hours later, with confirmation expected to arrive at Earth at around 16:00 GMT/17:00 CET.

Three control centres are involved in the landing: the Rosetta Mission Operations Centre at ESA’s Space Operations Centre (ESOC) in Darmstadt, Germany; the Lander Control Centre at DLR in Cologne, Germany; and the Lander Science Operations and Navigation Centre at CNES in Toulouse, France. Activities at each control centre will be closely linked and will be featured in a combined English-language ESA TV programme broadcast from ESOC. 

Viewers across Europe can watch the climax to the Rosetta mission via the EUTELSAT 7B satellite located at 7° East

Downlink frequency: 12676.83MHz
Polarisation: Y/vertical
Symbol rate: 7200 FEC: 5/6 Mod: DVBS2/8PSK
Signal: 1080i/50 MPEG4 4:2:0 H264 Audio 1: prog mono / Audio 2: ambience

Please see below the scheduled timelime for the landing operations and consult the dedicated ESA Rosetta website (http://rosetta.esa.int) or the ESA TV page

(http://www.esa.int/esatv/Television) for more information and updates on this exceptional space mission.

Nov. 11
19:00 GMT / 20:00 CET    Go-No Go #1 

Nov. 12
06:00-07:00 GMT / 07:00-08:00
CET: Final preparation manoeuvre and Go/No-Go # 5 for lander separation

08:30-09:15 GMT / 09:30-10:15 CET: Lander separation scheduled at 09:03 GMT/10:03 CET

11:00-12:15 GMT / 12:00-13:15 CET: Science update and first pictures expected around 12:00 GMT / 13:00 CET

14:00-15:30 GMT/ 15:00-16:30 CET: Rosetta science / Last preparations and then await landing

15:45-16:15 GMT /16:45-17:15 CET: Landing expected at 16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET (+/- 15 mn)

17:00 GMT /18:00 CET earliest: Presentation of first panoramic image from the comet

 Read More>>


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal